JHS Library: Indigenous Traditions / Native American: Native American Websites

Religion & Spirituality

In the Light of Reverence explores American culture’s relationship to nature in three places considered sacred by native peoples
Native American Spirituality -- Explores the belief systems of Native Americans, and includes an extensive bibliography and links to related websites.
Native Web Religion and Spirituality Resources -- Links to sites about spirituality and specific Native churches in the U.S.
Sacred Land Film Project -- Twelve-minute film exploring the views of indigenous peoples' resistance to the destruction of the sacred sites and cultures.

General Native American Web Links

American Indian and Alaska Native Populations -- A compilation of demographic information prepared by the U.S. Census Bureau, including data tables on social and economic characteristic, housing, and historical trends.
American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set : 1817 - 1899 -- Includes digital facsimiles of United States government documents pertaining to nineteenth century legislation regarding U.S. government interactions with indigenous peoples of the United States and Alaskan territory.
Bureau of Indian Affairs -- Provides information on a variety of topics, including BIA history, a directory of tribal leaders, and links to information about Native American ancestry and geneaolgy.
EPA American Indian Environmental Issues -- Strengthens public health and environmental protection in Indian Country.
Federal Websites For and About Native Americans -- A directory of federal government websites that feature information for or about Native Americans. Subjects include agriculture, art and exhibits, business and employment, education, environment and wildlife, federal and tribal government, grants and funding, health and human services, highways, history, housing and land, the military, reference tools, and taxes.
Five Views: A History of American Indians in California -- section of online book, Five Views: An Ethnic Historic Site Survey for California, by Dwight Dutschke of the Santa Barbara Indian Center, published by the National Park Service
Guide to Native American Children's and Young Adult Literature -- A guide to current online and print resources for finding children's and young adult literature by Native Americans and/or about Native American culture.
The Illustrating Traveler: Adventure and Illustration in North America and the Caribbean, 1760-1895 -- An online exhibit featuring printed works from the (Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University.
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet -- Includes Native American nations, culture, history, health, law/government, education, art, and archeology.
Indianz.com -- Updated daily, this award-winning website provides quality news and information on a range of topics from a Native American perspective as well as resources on issues facing Native Americans today.
National Indian Law Library -- Native American Rights Fund. A comprehensive collection of past and present Tribal governmental documents, and literature about Native legal issues.
Native American Authors -- Provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal web sites.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project -- Provides access to the constitutions, tribal codes, and other legal documents. It offers the user access
NativeWeb -- Includes information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations; fostering communication between native and non-native peoples.
Sacred Texts -- Native American Religions -- Takes a respectful approach and lists historical texts and ethnographic accounts by culture group.

Museums, Arts, & Literature

Insitute of American Indian Arts -- Provides exhibits of contemporary Native art emphasizing the dynamic and diverse arts practices representative of Native North America.
National Museum of the American Indian -- Part of the Smithsonian, NMAI is dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans.
Native Art Network -- Offers images, general information, and news about Native American art and culture. Browse by artist, medium, or tribe.
Storytellers: Native American Authors Online --
Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian -- offers exhibitions of contemporary and historic Native American art.
Tribal Writers Digital Library -- Features out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada.

Primary Sources on the Web

Native American Documents Project -- Includes the narrative reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs for 1871, 1872, 1874, 1875, and 1876, as well as a map of western reservations published with the 1875 report.
The Avalon Project -- Provided by Yale Law School, this collection is a searchable collection of primary source documents in law, history and democracy.
Southern Oregon Digital Archive: First Nations Tribal Collection -- Includes documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion – Oregon and northern California.
Chief George Manual Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation Archive -- Includes digitized documents, reports, and publications from American Indian nations and indigenous nations from around the world.

Pacific Northwest Resources

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest -- Contains photographs and text relating to the Northwest Coast and Plateau. These resources illustrate many aspects of life and work, including housing, clothing, crafts, transportation, education, and employment.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive -- Consists of digital materials highlighting the presence of ethnic groups whose past were unrecognized or not always represented in the history of the Columbia River Basin.
Museum at Warm Springs (2007), awards and reviews. This website announced that it has been awarded a National Park Service Grant to photograph pictographs on reservation land and that it had also been awarded a grant to photograph and create an archive as well as fund a digital repository at the museum.
Oregon Indian Tribes -- Provides information such as location and population of various Oregon Indian tribes.
Oregon Native American Language Sound Recordings -- Includes interviews with members of the Coquille and Siletz tribes.
OSU's Native American Longhouse, Eena Haws NAL) 2012-2013 Staff, Oral Histories Collection - 7 interviews, audio and transcripts, available online

National Resources

Administration for Native Americans -- Part of the Administration For Children and Families, ANA promotes the goal of social and economic self-sufficiency of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Native American Pacific Islanders, including Native Samoans.
American Indian Resource Directory -- Provides general administrative Tribal contacts, cultural information and links to information about American Indian tribes and their resources.
American Indian Studies Research Institute -- Is an interdisciplinary research center at Indiana University focused on the native peoples of the Americas.
Association on American Indian Affairs -- A key organization in drafting the Indian Child Welfare Act, the Native American Graves Protection, and Repatriation Act, and the Tribal Tax Status Act.
Bureau of Indian Affairs -- Is the administration and management of millions of acres of land held in trust by the United States for American Indians, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives.
FedLaw: Native Americans -- Provides links to full texts of laws and regulations, including Executive Orders.
National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers -- Overarching purpose is to support the preservation, maintenance and revitalization of the culture and traditions of Native peoples of the United States.
National Congress of American Indians -- Provides coverage of current policy issues as well as information about education, health, economic development, and the environment as it relates to Native Americans.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project -- Provides access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents.
U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs -- Offers text of hearings, current issues information including text of introduced bills, and press releases.