JHS Library: Indigenous Traditions / Native American: Databases / Reference

Recommended Library Databases

When conducting your research, give yourself enough time to try multiple databases -- each has different content and features to offer you.

If you search inside JHS-only databases from off-campus, you will need the passwords which can be found on the last page of your JHS planner. You can also find the passwords by emailing lostpasswords@jesuitmail.org (from your J-mail account) or by logging in to the JHS portal here.

Annals of American History - Discontinued
This database has been discontinued by the publisher.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Link to all Jesuit HS databases

Looking for the full list of JHS databases? Click HERE

Featured Articles from a database

Dove, Michael R. “Indigenous People and Environmental Politics.” Annual Review of Anthropology, vol. 35, 2006, pp. 191–208. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25064921.

Hugh H. Brackenridge " A Negative View of Indian Rights," Annals of American History.
<http://america.eb.com/america/article?articleId=385155>

Medeiros, Joshua T. “INDIGENOUS PEOPLES’ DAY OR COLUMBUS DAY: Lessons in Leadership and Risk-Taking: How a Social Media Post Sparked a Larger Conversation about P&R’s Role in Social Equity.” Parks & Recreation, vol. 55, no. 1, Jan. 2020, p. 40. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=141188418&site=ehost-live.