JHS Library: General Theology Research Guide: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the Theology Research Guide. Use this guide to get started on your research using resources provided by the Clark Library.

Need more? Have questions? Please email me or set up a consultation.

World Religions Primary Sources

Milestone Documents of World Religions
Selections from the sacred texts and essential documents of world religions through history.

Getting Started with specialized subject encyclopedias.

Use these online encyclopedias to find readable overviews of your topic. If you need more detailed information try the databases tab above to find journal articles.

When you are off-campus the databases (including ebooks and online encyclopedias) will prompt you for a login/password. Most of these resources require the GALE password and you can find the them here.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices This link opens in a new window
A solid choice for completing first-year research assignments on the major faiths.
World Religions Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A thorough, objective resource covering the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religions and their sects and offshoots. Not as detailed or scholarly as the database entitled Encyclopedia of Religion.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
New Catholic Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Search this general encyclopedia's collection of hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Religion Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

OSLIS 2.0 Citation Maker

MLA Citation Maker NOW USING MLA9!
If you need to create citations in MLA format, use this site.

Citation Help

Have questions about citations? Try one of these links.

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University provides information about fair use policies, citations, and other writing processes

MLA in-text parenthetical citations -- Purdue University Library offers this straightforward guide.

APA and MLA Citation Game Home Page -- play an interactive game and learn how to correctly format APA or MLA citations from University of Washington.

Ask the MLA? -- This list of FAQs from the Modern Language Association covers some of the basics of formatting according to MLA guidelines.

EasyBib -- how to format citations for MLA 8 help. (We do no recommend using EasyBib's citation formatting program, as it generates incorrect citations)

Director of Clark Library and Academic Resource Center

Colleen O'Mahony

Email Me

Contact:

503-292-2663