JHS Library: Hinduism Research LibGuide: Databases / Reference

Recommended Library Databases

When conducting your research, give yourself enough time to try multiple databases -- each has different content and features to offer you.

If you search inside JHS-only databases from off-campus, you will need the passwords which can be found on the last page of your JHS planner. You can also find the passwords by emailing lostpasswords@jesuitmail.org (from your J-mail account) or by logging in to the JHS portal here.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Link to all Jesuit HS databases

Looking for the full list of JHS databases? Click HERE

Featured Articles from a database

Edelmann, Jonathan. “Introduction: Innovation in Hindu Traditions.” International Journal of Hindu Studies, vol. 18, no. 2, 2014, pp. 113 118., www.jstor.org/stable/24713668.

"Gandhi, Mahatma." World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 3: Biographies, UXL, 2007, pp. 129-136. Gale Virtual Reference Library, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3448400054/GVRL?u=jesuiths&sid=GVRL. Accessed 28 Feb. 2019.

“Hindu Sectarianism: Difference in Unity.” Hindu Pluralism: Religion and the Public Sphere in Early Modern South India, by Elaine M. Fisher, University of California Press, Oakland, California, 2017, pp. 31–56. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/10.1525/j.ctt1pq345d.6.

Narayanan, Vasudha. "Hinduism." Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2006, pp. 301-330. Gale Virtual Reference Library, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3437900042/GVRL?u=jesuiths&sid=GVRL.