JHS Library: **Jesuit High School Library: Home

Search the library catalog

Library Information

To contact the library please call 503-292-2663 or email library@jesuitportland.org

The library is open Monday thought Friday from 7:00 AM-5:00 PM Monday-Friday during the school year on days the school is open.

To contact the library please call 503-292-2663 or email library@jesuitportland.org

This place is a haven for quiet study, research, small group collaboration and personal reading. Please join us!

Borrowing Books & other material:

Students have the same borrowing privileges as JHS staff.
Patrons may have 10 items checked out at a time.
The borrowing period for both e-books and print books is 3 weeks. Items are renewable twice.
ID cards (or number) serves as your library card to check out materials at the self service kiosk. Library staff can assist with checkout as well.
Books taken off the shelf but not checked out should be placed on the restocking shelf.

Overdue Materials:

The Clark Library no longer charges patrons for overdue materials, unless they are Reserve or Reference items. However, patrons who lose or damage library material must pay for the replacement of material.
Overdue notices are sent on the 5th of each month to students and faculty via email.

Food and drink:

Food and drink other than water are never allowed. Water is permissible only if it is in a covered container.

Technology Policy:

As a Catholic, college-preparatory school, Jesuit High School recognizes the need to educate young men and women to use technology ethically and effectively and follow the Technology Policy.

Off-campus Database Access

Passwords for off-campus access to databases.
Sign-in to the above link using your Jesuit username and password. Once signed-in, you'll see a list of sign-in credentials for accessing our databases off-campus.

Reserve a collaboration room or schedule a test

Reserve a collaboration room

Popular Research Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million high resolution images (and growing), you can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The Artstor Digital Library provides straightforward access to curated images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window The LRC is designed to be your first stop for literary research. It includes full-text literary criticism, author biographies, topic and work overviews, and more.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's social issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window Great for finding pro and con arguments. Find news, background information, statistics, and analysis on 350+ leading contemporary social issues.
Flipster This link opens in a new window Contains the following magazines: America, National Review, The Atlantic, Science News, Scientific American, and the Christian Science Monitor.

Popular Research Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Search this general encyclopedia's collection of hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window Gale Ebooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science This link opens in a new window Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Library ID: jesuiths
Oxford English Dictionary O.E.D. This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. The OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference is an online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias - all subjects This link opens in a new window Current, peer-reviewed trustworthy research, read in 30 minutes or less across 25 encyclopedias, including: African History, American History, Anthropology, Asian History, Business and Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, Education, Encyclopedia of Social Work, Environmental Science, Global Public Health, International Studies, Latin American History, Linguistics, Literature, Natural Hazard Science, Neuroscience, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Physics, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology, Religion.