JHS Library: Catholic Culture Today (Steiert Fall '25): Home

Overviews and Books

World Religions - Belief, Culture, and Controversy

Provides a deep survey of more than 50 past and present religions practiced throughout the world. Includes thousands of primary and secondary sources that examine core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations, key events, sacred places, and significant figures.

Includes:
Buddhism
Christianity
Chinese Religions
Hinduism
Islam
Judaism
New Religions
Shinto
Traditional Religions
Western Esotericism
Unbelief
Other Faiths and Beliefs

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Religion
Make sure to use the "Search Within" bar on the righthand side of the page.

Oxford Reference Premium
Oxford Reference is an online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias.

Magazine Articles

Marian Devotion
Dickson, Charles. “Mother of Us All.” Priest, vol. 72, no. 10, Oct. 2016, pp. 20–23. EBSCOhost, research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=86dd059e-f8e4-3136-9c1c-9bfc2dec39ec.
Seamless Garment Ethic
O, Loughlin, Michael J. “Are U.S. Bishops Restoring the Seamless Garment?” America Magazine: The Jesuit Review of Faith & Culture, vol. 217, no. 13, Dec. 2017, pp. 12–14. EBSCOhost, research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=5bc652ae-d0d1-39fe-8e5d-45b73caa4d7c.
Afterlife (Heaven, Hell, & Purgatory)
Roden, Renée. “Grave Matters: Christian Beliefs about the Afterlife Have Evolved over the Centuries but Remain Rooted in Faith.” U.S. Catholic, vol. 89, no. 11, Nov. 2024, pp. 10–15. EBSCOhost, research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=fc265cb2-7131-3ed4-9d0e-5dc8173e95a7.
Communion of Saints
Thigpen, Paul. “What Is the Communion of Saints?” Catholic Answer, vol. 28, no. 3, July 2014, pp. 6–8. EBSCOhost, research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=853d7adb-3fcc-3f9e-9dd2-436346395583.
Liturgical Calendar
Camille, Alice. “Mark Your Calendars: The Church Calendar Can Feel Mysterious, Even to the Most Devout Catholics.” U.S. Catholic, vol. 90, no. 2, Feb. 2025, pp. 47–49. EBSCOhost, research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=a821981a-e5a4-326f-9f52-82de839c4533.

Other Databases

To search for more specific aspects of your topic or for in-depth scholarly analysis of your topic, search for your key terms in the following databases.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Gale PowerSearch
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Need More Assistance?

Email clarc@jesuitportland.org for help.