Skip to main content

Holocaust Resources: Websites

Websites

Cassutto Memorial Lesson Plan  - This lesson is intended to supplement any teacher's implementation of the standard Holocaust Education curriculum. It involves the integration of basic historical research, oral history, creative writing, and analysis of primary and secondary documentation.

Echoes and Reflections: A multimedia curriculum on the Holocaust - Echoes and Reflections is a multimedia curriculum on the Holocaust developed by the Anti-Defamation League, USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education, and Yad Vashem.

Facing History and Ourselves - Topic: Holocaust - Includes the stories of survivors, witnesses, and rescuers that raise essential questions about the nature of human behavior.

Fortunoff Video Archives for Holocaust Testimonies - Yale's Holocaust video, created by the Holocaust Survivors Film Project, Inc. collects videotaped testimonies of Holocaust survivors, including those in the Emmy award-winning documentary "Forever Yesterday" and "About the Holocaust", a documentary for secondary schools. These testimonial videos are currently housed at Yale University's Sterling Memorial Library. 

Holocaust and Human Rights Education Center - The Holocaust and Human Rights Education Center teaches the lessons of the Holocaust to teachers, students, and the Westchester community. The website offers teacher's resources, curriculums and films.

Holocaust Educational Foundation - The Holocaust Education Foundation is a non-profit organization created to preserve and promote Holocaust awareness by facilitating teaching and scholarship at the college and university level. The Foundation offers programs including research fellowships, summer institutes, seminars, conferences, and visiting lecturer opportunities.

Holocaust Teaching Resource Center - The Holocaust Teaching Resource Center, supported by the Holocaust Education Foundation, offers educators with lesson plans, curricula, teachers' manuals, and activities designed to educate students of all ages (kindergarten through college) about the Holocaust. Full page documents are available for printout and use in classroom settings. 

More Websites

Jewish Family and Children’s Services Holocaust Center: Oral Histories - The Tauber Holocaust Library oral history archive consists of over 2,000 audio and video testimonies from Holocaust survivors and witnesses.

Music of the Holocaust - Focuses on the role of music during the Holocaust. Includes the 'Nazification' of music in Germany, the banning of 'degenerate' music, the use of music by groups like the Hitler Youth, and the work of composers exiled or displaced by the regime. 

Museum of Jewish Heritage - Holocaust Curriculum - Developed by the Museum with the support of the NYC Department of Education, the Museum of Jewish Heritage Holocaust Curriculum is an innovative teaching resource featuring free lesson plans accessible through our Meilman Virtual Classroom, primary sources, historical timelines, stories of young people coming of age during the Holocaust, and other resources for middle and high school students and their educators.

Oregon Jewish Museum and Center for Holocaust Education - Endeavors to document and share the stories of the Holocaust from the perspectives of survivors, refugees, and their descendants through presentations, workshops, educational trunks, classroom book loans and more.

A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust - A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust, a resource for teachers, presents three perspectives: "Timeline", "People", and "The Arts". The website also contains guidelines for Holocaust study and an archive of teacher materials and student activities related to the Holocaust.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum offers information about the exhibits in its Washington, D.C. museum as well as exhibits across the United States. The website also contains research tools including a Holocaust Encyclopedia, personal histories of those involved in the Holocaust, and online museum exhibitions. 

University of Southern California Shoah Foundation - Programs and Resources for Educators - Offers a variety of programs and resources for teachers, from downloadable lessons that are classroom ready to documentary films and professional development programs.

US Holocaust Museum Educators’ Toolbox - Offers a vast array of resources for teachers: articles; photos; videos; animated maps; and, online exhibitions.  This Guide will help you to navigate the site to make the best use of the resources available whether you are teaching a course on the Holocaust or preparing to bring your students to the Museum.

Washington State Holocaust Education Resource Center (WSHERC) - WSHERC offers educational materials for teaching about the Holocaust, as well as a lending and research library of books, videos and CDs. WSHERC also organizes public exhibits and programs and publishes a newsletter focusing on Holocaust-related educational issues. WSHERC's Online Teaching & Learning Center allows site visitors to access a variety of Holocaust teaching materials.

© 2016 Clark Library | Jesuit High School | 9000 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Hwy | Portland, OR 97225 | P 503-292-2663