Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Alternate Name(s)
Artstore images art paintings sculpture photographs
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million high resolution images (and growing), you can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The Artstor Digital Library provides straightforward access to curated images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
The LRC is designed to be your first stop for literary research. It includes full-text literary criticism, author biographies, topic and work overviews, and more.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's social issues.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. The OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language.
Oxford Reference is an online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias - all subjects
This link opens in a new windowCurrent, peer-reviewed trustworthy research, read in 30 minutes or less across 25 encyclopedias, including:
African History,
American History,
Anthropology,
Asian History,
Business and Management,
Climate Science,
Communication,
Criminology and Criminal Justice,
Economics and Finance,
Education,
Encyclopedia of Social Work,
Environmental Science,
Global Public Health,
International Studies,
Latin American History,
Linguistics,
Literature,
Natural Hazard Science,
Neuroscience,
Oxford Classical Dictionary,
Physics,
Planetary Science,
Politics,
Psychology,
Religion.
Alternate Name(s)
Artstore images art paintings sculpture photographs
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million high resolution images (and growing), you can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The Artstor Digital Library provides straightforward access to curated images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
This link opens in a new windowCovers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Library ID: jesuiths
Alternate Name(s)
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Not all are full-text.
Covers formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Includes religious publishing and nondenominational A wide spectrum of religious belief systems supports the global study of religion.
Swank is a video database provided through the Clark Library that allows faculty to share films with students for instructional purposes. Details on how faculty can select films are here: https://jesuit.instructure.com/courses/92165/pages/2020-swank-resources
Provides a deep survey of more than 50 past and present religions practiced throughout the world. Includes thousands of primary and secondary sources that examine core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations, key events, sacred places, and significant figures.
Includes: Buddhism Christianity Chinese Religions Hinduism Islam Judaism New Religions Shinto Traditional Religions Western Esotericism Unbelief Other Faiths and Beliefs
WorldCat
This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is an online library catalog that lets you find books, dissertations, microform, journals and multimedia items in libraries around the world. It doesn't tell you what JHS Library owns but its got a citation maker for the vast majority of books.
