Skip to Main Content

Summer Reading 2022: English II Honors: Into the Wild and The Sun Does Shine

Overview

All sophomores in English II HONORS will need to read The Sun Does Shine AND Into the Wild.
          

Summary of The Sun Does Shine from Goodreads

A powerful, revealing story of hope, love, justice, and the power of reading by a man who spent thirty years on death row for a crime he didn't commit.

In 1985, Anthony Ray Hinton was arrested and charged with two counts of capital murder in Alabama. Stunned, confused, and only twenty-nine years old, Hinton knew that it was a case of mistaken identity and believed that the truth would prove his innocence and ultimately set him free.

But with no money and a different system of justice for a poor black man in the South, Hinton was sentenced to death by electrocution. He spent his first three years on Death Row at Holman State Prison in agonizing silence—full of despair and anger toward all those who had sent an innocent man to his death. But as Hinton realized and accepted his fate, he resolved not only to survive, but find a way to live on Death Row. For the next twenty-seven years he was a beacon—transforming not only his own spirit, but those of his fellow inmates, fifty-four of whom were executed mere feet from his cell. With the help of civil rights attorney and bestselling author of Just Mercy, Bryan Stevenson, Hinton won his release in 2015.

With a foreword by Stevenson, The Sun Does Shine is an extraordinary testament to the power of hope sustained through the darkest times. Destined to be a classic memoir of wrongful imprisonment and freedom won, Hinton’s memoir tells his dramatic thirty-year journey and shows how you can take away a man’s freedom, but you can’t take away his imagination, humor, or joy.

Author bio - Anthony Ray Hinton

Born in Alabama in 1957, Anthony Ray Hinton was 29 years old when he was wrongly convicted of the murders of two restaurant managers. Held on death row for nearly 30 years he was finally released on 3 April 2015 after his appeal was taken right up to the US Supreme Court, which ruled that his case should be retried. Since his release he’s become a popular and powerful speaker, planning to devote the rest of his life to help counter discrimination, bolster justice and share his message of hope and forgiveness.

 

Image: https://www.pnw.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Anthony-Ray-Hinton.jpg
bio: https://www.amazon.com/Anthony-Ray-Hinton/e/B073G9V7Z1%3Fref=dbs_a_mng_rwt_scns_share

Books you May Have Read That Are Similar

If you read and liked one of these books, you might enjoy this title as well:

  • Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson
  • The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row by Anthony Ray Hinton
  • Barking to the Choir: The Power of Radical Kinship by Gregory Boyle

 

I've Seen Hate at Its Worst

Podcast - Kate Bowler with Anthony Ray Hinton

Video: Into the Wild

Book Summary: Into the Wild

Into the Wild Goodreads Summary:

In April, 1992, a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. His name was Christopher Johnson McCandless. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, a party of moose hunters found his decomposed body. How McCandless came to die is the unforgettable story of Into the Wild.

Immediately after graduating from college in 1991, McCandless had roamed through the West and Southwest on a vision quest like those made by his heroes Jack London and John Muir. In the Mojave Desert he abandoned his car, stripped it of its license plates, and burned all of his cash. He would give himself a new name, Alexander Supertramp, and, unencumbered by money and belongings, he would be free to wallow in the raw, unfiltered experiences that nature presented. Craving a blank spot on the map, McCandless simply threw away the maps. Leaving behind his desperate parents and sister, he vanished into the wild.

Author Bio - Jon Krakauer

Jon Krakauer - The Way Forward: Title IX Advocacy in the Trump Era The Way  Forward: Title IX Advocacy in the Trump Era

Jon Krakauer is the author of eight books and has received an Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

https://www.jonkrakauer.com/

Other books by Jon Krakauer:

  • Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
  • Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith
  • Where Men Win Glory: The Odyssey of Pat Tillman
  • Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town

Readalikes: Into the Wild

If you read and liked one of these books, you might enjoy this title as well!

  • Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
© 2016 Clark Library | Jesuit High School | 9000 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Hwy | Portland, OR 97225 | P 503-292-2663