Skip to Main Content

Summer Reading 2021: English II Honors: Into the Wild and All American Boys

Overview

All sophomores in English II HONORS will need to read All American Boys AND Into the Wild.

Author Bios

TIME for Kids | 8 Questions for Jason Reynolds

After earning a BA in English from The University of Maryland, College Park, Jason Reynolds moved to Brooklyn, New York, where you can often find him walking the four blocks from the train to his apartment talking to himself. Well, not really talking to himself, but just repeating character names and plot lines he thought of on the train, over and over again, because he’s afraid he’ll forget it all before he gets home.

https://www.jasonwritesbooks.com/

Other books by Jason Reynolds:

  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You (with Ibram X. Kendi)
  • Long Way Down
  • The Boy in the Black Suit
  • When I Was the Greatest
  • Ghost
  • Miles Morales: Spider-Man
  • and many more!

Brendan Kiely

Brendan Kiely received an MFA in creative writing from The City College of New York. His writing has appeared in Fiction, Guernica, The AWP Writer’s Chronicle, and other publications. Originally from the Boston area, he now teaches at an independent high school and lives with his wife in Greenwich Village.

https://www.brendankiely.com/

Other books by Brendan Kiely:

  • Tradition
  • The Last True Love Story
  • The Gospel of Winter

Jon Krakauer - The Way Forward: Title IX Advocacy in the Trump Era The Way  Forward: Title IX Advocacy in the Trump Era

Jon Krakauer is the author of eight books and has received an Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

https://www.jonkrakauer.com/

Other books by Jon Krakauer:

  • Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
  • Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith
  • Where Men Win Glory: The Odyssey of Pat Tillman
  • Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town

For those taking Sophomore Honor English:

Into the Wild: Jon Krakauer: 9780385486804: Amazon.com: Books

Book Summary: All American Boys

Goodreads Summary:

Rashad is absent again today.

That’s the sidewalk graffiti that started it all…

Well, no, actually, a lady tripping over Rashad at the store, making him drop a bag of chips, was what started it all. Because it didn’t matter what Rashad said next—that it was an accident, that he wasn’t stealing—the cop just kept pounding him. Over and over, pummeling him into the pavement. So then Rashad, an ROTC kid with mad art skills, was absent again…and again…stuck in a hospital room. Why? Because it looked like he was stealing. And he was a black kid in baggy clothes. So he must have been stealing.

And that’s how it started.

And that’s what Quinn, a white kid, saw. He saw his best friend’s older brother beating the daylights out of a classmate. At first Quinn doesn’t tell a soul…He’s not even sure he understands it. And does it matter? The whole thing was caught on camera, anyway. But when the school—and nation—start to divide on what happens, blame spreads like wildfire fed by ugly words like “racism” and “police brutality.” Quinn realizes he’s got to understand it, because, bystander or not, he’s a part of history. He just has to figure out what side of history that will be.

Rashad and Quinn—one black, one white, both American—face the unspeakable truth that racism and prejudice didn’t die after the civil rights movement. There’s a future at stake, a future where no one else will have to be absent because of police brutality. They just have to risk everything to change the world.

Cuz that’s how it can end.

Readalikes: All American Boys

If you read and liked one of these books, you might enjoy this title as well!

  • Dear Martin by Nic Stone
  • Concrete Rose by by Angie Thomas
  • Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
  • Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  • Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes
  • Watch Us Rise by Renee Watson and Ellen Hagan

Book Summary: Into the Wild

Goodreads Summary:

In April, 1992, a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. His name was Christopher Johnson McCandless. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, a party of moose hunters found his decomposed body. How McCandless came to die is the unforgettable story of Into the Wild.

Immediately after graduating from college in 1991, McCandless had roamed through the West and Southwest on a vision quest like those made by his heroes Jack London and John Muir. In the Mojave Desert he abandoned his car, stripped it of its license plates, and burned all of his cash. He would give himself a new name, Alexander Supertramp, and, unencumbered by money and belongings, he would be free to wallow in the raw, unfiltered experiences that nature presented. Craving a blank spot on the map, McCandless simply threw away the maps. Leaving behind his desperate parents and sister, he vanished into the wild.

Readalikes: Into the Wild

If you read and liked one of these books, you might enjoy this title as well!

  • Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
© 2016 Clark Library | Jesuit High School | 9000 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Hwy | Portland, OR 97225 | P 503-292-2663