JHS Clark Library: Catholicism in the Movies: Databases / Reference

Recommended Library Databases

When conducting your research, give yourself enough time to try multiple databases -- each has different content and features to offer you.

If you search inside JHS-only databases from off-campus, you will need the passwords which can be found on the last page of your JHS planner. You can also find the passwords by emailing lostpasswords@jesuitmail.org (from your J-mail account) or by logging in to the JHS portal here.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Student Resources In Context This link opens in a new window
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For remote access to JSTOR, click "Login to My Account" in the top right corner of the JStor homepage. Then enter the username and password from your planner.

Link to all Jesuit HS databases

Looking for the full list of JHS databases? Click HERE

Featured Articles from a database

In-depth review of the book Film as Religion: Myths, Morals, and Rituals by John C. Lyden from JStor

The Costumed Catholic: Catholics, Whiteness, and the Movies, 1928 - 1973 This examines the impact movies had on the place of Catholics of European descent in mainstream white America.

"Film and Religion." Encyclopedia of Religion While the academic study of "film and religion" as a subfield within religious studies has only come of age since the late 1980s the connection between film and religion is as old as film itself...