JHS Library: Fences by August Wilson: Databases / Reference

Getting Started

When conducting your research, give yourself enough time to try multiple databases -- each has different content and features to offer you. If you search inside JHS-only databases from off-campus, you will need the passwords which can be found on the last page of your JHS planner. You can also find the passwords by emailing lostpasswords@jesuitmail.org (from your J-mail account) or by logging in to the JHS portal here.

Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
The LRC is designed to be your first stop for literary research. It includes full-text literary criticism, author biographies, topic and work overviews, and more.

Gale Literary Sources

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Gale Literature allows you to research authors and their works, literary movements, and genres by searching across the full text of scholarly criticism and reference works.

Salem Press

Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Provides online full-text access to its collections of scholarly articles in literature, history, and the humanities.

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to search across all subject areas to find articles, books, or citations of scholarly literature and related resources on the web.

U.S. History in Context

U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

The Cambridge Companion to August Wilson