JHS Library: World History Research for Freshmen: Databases / Reference

Remote Access (accessing databases outside of school)

When conducting your research, give yourself enough time to try multiple databases -- each has different content and features to offer you.

If you search JHS-only databases from off-campus, you will need the usernames and passwords. The passwords are on the second to last page of your planner. You can also find the passwords by emailing lostpasswords@jesuitmail.org (from your J-mail account) or by logging in to the JHS portal HERE.

Looking for the full list of JHS databases? Click HERE

Databases video shortlink: http://tinyurl.com/FRHistory

Featured Databases

Gale PowerSearch. Search multiple databases at once.

Student Resources In Context This link opens in a new window
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Gale Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Search country reports, news, personal interviews, and statistics for information about daily life all over the world.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Search this general encyclopedia's collection of hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.

Featured articles from a database

Article about the construction of the Eiffel Tower:

Kunzig, Robert. "TOWER and GLORY. (Cover Story)." U.S. News & World Report, vol. 134, no. 23, 30 June 2003, p. 54. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=10069394

Article about Auschwitz:

"Auschwitz." Learning About the Holocaust: A Student's Guide, edited by Ronald M. Smelser, vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2001, pp. 40-49. Global Issues in Context, link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3034500026/GIC?u=jesuiths&xid=a2328dde.

List of "Auschwitz" articles from Global Issues in Context database