Skip to main content

Supreme Court Cases: Websites

Websites for U.S. Supreme Court Opinions

There are several Web sources for accessing the full text of Supreme Court Case decisions.

Supreme Court Website

This website has slip opinions, electronic versions of the United States Reports (volume 502 onward), and other useful information for Supreme Court cases. Authors of that site caution users that print versions are the official source. 
http://www.supremecourtus.gov 

The Legal Information Institute

This website provides online access to Supreme Court decisions since May 1990 through Project Hermes. Site also has over 300 of the most important historical cases available online in a separate file. 
http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct 

Historic Supreme Court Decisions – by Topic

The decisions in this collection have all been gathered into topical groups.

Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court

This website helps students explore the key issues of each case.

FedWorld / FLITE U.S. Supreme Court Decision

This website has case decisions from 1937-1975. Users can search by case name or keyword. 
FLITE = Federal Legal Information Through Electronics

Findlaw

This website has access to decisions from 1893 to the present. Users can search by year, case name, full text, or citation. 
http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/supreme.html 

Case Law (Google Scholar)

Search opinions from the U.S. Supreme Court from 1791. US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923.

Justia.com

Review recent and most-read decisions or browse through our free collection of United States Supreme Court full-text opinions from 1791 to the present. Coverage back to 1 U.S.

Public Library of Law

PLoL is one of the largest free law libraries in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. Coverage back to 1 U.S.

 

United States Reports

United States Reports is the official publication of the Supreme Court. It is available in multiple places.

© 2016 Clark Library | Jesuit High School | 9000 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Hwy | Portland, OR 97225 | P 503-292-2663