JHS Library: Public Health Reference: Data and Statistics

Our Silent Partner

Public Health Data: Our Silent Partner

Himmelfarb Links

The Himmelfarb Library, though the Milkin School of Public Health and Health Services research guide, offers links to data and statistics.

http://guides.himmelfarb.gwu.edu/misph/data

National Library of Medicine

Through the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) offers an online course on finding and using health statistics.

www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/usestats/index.htm

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A collaboration of US Government Agencies, Public Health Organizations, and Health Sciences Libraries

Health Data Tools and Statistics
Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection. Covers the following areas: Health Information Technology and Standards, Health Statistics, National Public Health Data Sets, State and Local Public Health Data

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Data and statistical resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
http://www.cdc.gov/

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Survey (BRFSS)
Data designed to measure behavioral risk factors in the adult, non-institutionalized, civilian population. Focuses on preventive health practices and risk behaviors associated with chronic diseases, injuries, and preventive infectious diseases.
Data and Statistics
This portal offers links to CDC data and statistics by tool, collection method, topic, and more.
Health Data Interactive
Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns
Health-related Quality of Life (HRQOL)
HRQOL data can be used to track population health in states and communities, to measure the burden of chronic and infectious diseases in different populations, and to measure the effects of short- and long-term disabilities.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Weekly publication of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The principal health statistics collection agency for the United States, NCHS provides a variety of health statistics.
more...less...
Our health statistics allow us to:
* document the health status of the population and of important subgroups
* identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race or ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, and other population characteristics
* describe our experiences with the health care system
* monitor trends in health status and health care delivery
* identify health problems
* support biomedical and health services research
* provide information for making changes in public policies and programs
* evaluate the impact of health policies and programs
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
NHANES data provide a snapshot of the health and nutrition of the U.S. population. NHANES collects extensive health information from both face-to-face interviews and medical examinations. Data from NHANES surveys provide opportunities to study major nutri
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
NHIS has monitored the health of the nation since 1957. It contains a broad range of health topics collected through personal household interviews.
Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
CDC's WISQARs is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.
Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER)
CDC's WONDER provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.

Library Liaison

Colleen O'Mahony

Email Me

Contact:

503-292-2663