This guide is not meant to take place of the advice of a mental health professional.
If you are in crisis, please call the Multnomah County
Mental Health Crisis Intervention Team at
503-988-4888
800-716-9769
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services — Mental Health in Adolescents
Description: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Adolescent Health offers information about adolescent mental health across states, adolescent mental health disorders and access to care.
Description: The Jed Foundation is an organization committed to the mental and emotional health of college students and preventing suicide among this population. The foundation runs several free online self-assessment and resource programs for students and campuses. It offers training tools for campus professionals to improve their mental health services for students.
U.S. Government — Youth Mental Health
Description: This is a hub of government information about youth mental health issues, including substance abuse, LGBT issues, bullying and homelessness.
Description: A list of hotlines for teens facing issues ranging from bullying and abuse to drugs and eating disorders.
UCLA — Center for Mental Health in Schools and Student Learning Support
Description: The UCLA Center for Mental Health in Schools created the School Mental Health Project, an online collection of tools, research, publications and resources for school practitioners and professionals.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) — LGBTQ
Description: The National Alliance on Mental Illness GLBT resources page contains articles, videos, publications, research and links to prominent organizations about GLBT mental health.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) — LGBT Youth
Description: The Centers for Disease Control maintains a section about LGBT youth health issues.
Description: The GLBT National Help Center provides an online peer-support chat as well as free, confidential counseling over the phone for the GLBT community.
Description: The GLBT National Help Center runs this website, which contains more than 15,000 GLBT resources and offers tools for users to find local community centers, youth groups and support resources.
Description: The creators of the Oscar-winning short film “Trevor” founded The Trevor Project. The organization provides suicide prevention and crisis intervention for LGBTQ youth between the ages of 13 and 24.
American Psychological Association — Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity
Description: The American Psychological Association’s Help Center on Sexual Orientation’s website provides research and information on mental health issues surrounding sexual orientation.
If you are having a mental health crisis, please reach out to one of these agencies. You do not need to suffer alone.
Description: This is the National Institutes of Health’s collection of resources from the National Library of Medicine. It includes information about conditions, treatments, patients, families and friends, latest research, drugs and supplements, terminology and definitions, videos, illustrations and clinical trials.
World Health Organization (WHO) — Project Atlas
Description: The World Health Organization’s Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse has a Project Atlas, which compiles resources and information about mental health and neurology policies, prevalence, statistics, medicines, professionals, information systems and publications. Topics covered include mental health in emergencies, maternal and child mental health, neurology and public health, disorders management and suicide prevention. Information can be searched by region, country or worldwide.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services — Mental Health
Description: This website, run by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides government information about mental health taken from the Centers for Disease Control, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Mental Health, Medline Plus, FindYouthInfo.gov and Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. The information is for the general public, health care providers, policymakers, schools and communities.
National Eating Disorders Association
Description: The National Eating Disorders Association is a nonprofit supporting people with eating disorders and their families. It provides an information and referral helpline, extensive information about eating disorder prevention, treatment and recovery, as well as handouts and toolkits for parents, coaches and educators, and forums for discussion and stories of recovery. The website is also available in Spanish.
Description: An online community for teens that encourages healthy body image.
Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA) – Online Resources
Description: The Anxiety and Depression Association of America raises public and professional awareness, promotes research advancement and provides referrals for children and adults with anxiety, depression, obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorders and related disorders. The website provides information about these conditions, their treatment and resources for professionals.
Description: This is the website of the nonprofit advocacy organization Freedom from Fear. It contains a wealth of research-based information and treatment referrals for anxiety and depression.
